Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting El Potro Mexican Restaurant. We'd love to have your feedback!

Lake City

Type to search our menu...

Our Latest Reviews

Charlaine D about 1 month ago

Enchiladas Verdes

It is the most authentic Mexican restaurant I've ever been to. Staff is awesome.

Charlie 2 months ago

Carnitas (Pork Shredded)

The food is amazing. Always friendly service. Quiet atmosphere. Hands down the best food in Lake City.

Michael 3 months ago

Chile Relleno & Taco

I recently moved back to Lake City from Tallahassee, Florida. One of the first places I had to go when I got back was El Potro! I loved when I was teenager in the 90's and I was hoping it was still as good as I remembered. As soon as I walked in I could smell the delicious cooking, and I knew it was going to be good. I got the chile relleno and taco, with rice and beans, chips and salsa, and a margarita. The chips were light and crispy, the salsa was perfect, my food was hot, fresh, and it was prepared quickly as well. The service was top notch, I never had to ask for anything. The server kept my drinks full, suggested some on items on the menu. Overall the experience was great and it was lunch, I can't wait to go back for dinner next time. I have a large presence on Google reviews, (over 1.2 million photo and review views) I am a level 6 Local Guide for Google and after I finish leaving this review, I am going on Google Maps to add another one there as well. Well done, El Potro!

Leslie 4 months ago

Traditional Fajitas

Absolutely love this place! Great food and excellent customer service!

Brittany 8 months ago

Nachos Supremos

Nachos supremos was delicious! Never disappointed when I come here

Charlie 2 months ago

Texas Rice

The Texas Rice is one of my go to favorite dishes. And the portion is huge. More like two meals. Reheats well. Love this.

Marvin 3 months ago

Carnitas

First time ordering from this place. My family was surprisingly amazed at how delicious the food was. We order a number of different item's from the menu. Will surely order again.

Jkirb1986 4 months ago

Chile Colorado

I could rave about so many things on the menu. The Chile Colorado is my very favorite. I also love the Chile rellenos and chiminangos. I was super stoked when they added the Paloma cocktail to their menu. We love this place and that it's family ran

Shane 6 months ago

Certified Angus Beef ® Steak (Asada) Tacos

Grilled onions and chipotle sauce

Tim 12 months ago

Tamale

El Potro is very good. So far it's one of the best places at which I've dined in Florida. I really enjoy their tamales, chili relleno, and fried yucca.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October 2022:
Melissa, Noble Crust
St. Pete, FL

September 2022:
Ben, Cinn City
Lynchburg, VA

August 2022:
Rebecca, Udder Delight
Cranston, RI

July 2022:
Randolph, Turkey Leg Hut
Houston, TX

June 2022:
Lawrence, O'Ya Cantina
Chapel Hill, NC

May 2022:
David, Grillsmith
Sarasota, FL

April 2022:
Katie, Jelly Cafe
Denver, CO

March 2022:
Marny, PPC Italian Restaurant
Plaistow, NH

February 2022:
Teresa, Black Angus
Vancouver, BC

January 2022:
Deirdre, White Pie
Colorado Springs, CO

December 2021:
Camille, Patsy's Roadhouse
Hopewell Junction, NY

November 2021:
Sherry, Riverpark Pub and Eatery
Parkville, MO

October 2021:
Stephanie, Hightopps Backstage Grille
Timonium, MD

September 2021:
Megan, Scratch Kitchen & Taproom
Apex, NC

August 2021:
Jerome, Taste of Soul by Ms. Nancy
Burlington, NJ

July 2021:
The Great Greek, NV

June 2021:
Sylvia, Urth Caffé
Los Angeles, CA 

May 2021:
Amber, Haute Dogs and Fries
Alexandria, VA

April 2021:
Travis, El Monumento
Georgetown, TX

March 2021:
Susan, Alden Park
Plymouth, MA

February 2021:
Leilani, Hon Machi Korean BBQ
San Antonio, TX

January 2021:
Goodrich Seafood & Oyster House

December 2020:
Hallee, Pizza Sociale
Los Angeles, CA

November 2020:
Barbara, PPC Italian Restaurant
Plaistow, NH

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA